SHERBURNE-EARLVILLE CENTRAL SCHOOL REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING – August 2, 2010

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Doug Shattuck, Thomas Morris, Patrick Dunshee, Daniel Piliero, Susan Osborne (entered 6:45 p.m.)

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Stephen Harris, John Brown

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Elementary Library Classroom by Doug Shattuck, President, with the following in attendance: Gayle Hellert, Superintendent; Todd Griffin, Assistant Superintendent; members of SE staff and community.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Thomas Morris, and carried by members present, the Board moved into Executive Session at 6:31 p.m. to discuss the CSE Annual Report. On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Thomas Morris, and carried by members present, the Board reconvened into regular session at 6:46 p.m.

PUBLIC QUESTION AND ANSWER PERIOD

Doug Clark asked what the policy was regarding bus drivers leaving the buses unattended on trips and who is responsible for replacing the stolen items. Doug Shattuck replied that this is an issue that will be discussed in Executive Session and that the Superintendent would be in touch with the parents and students involved. Gayle Hellert said that there is no policy regarding leaving buses unattended, but that has been changed.

INFORMATIONAL REPORTS

Gayle Hellert gave a presentation on the UPK Program. Due to the lack of a State Budget, we do not have funding at this time for UPK. With the savings we have on teachers who have left or retired and not been replaced, we could fund this program locally. Ms. Hellert recommends that we do this, with the possibility that when the budget is passed we will get the funding. This will give us another year to discuss future funding.

Gayle Hellert gave a presentation on State Education Department Testing.

The issue of Student Management was discussed with the Superintendent and Administrators.

AGENDA MODIFICATIONS

An Appointment Addendum and a Resignation Resolution were presented to the Board for their consideration. On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Susan Osborne, and carried by members present, the two resolutions were added to the consent agenda.

MINUTES – Minutes of the meetings held on July 12, 2010, were presented for approval. On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Susan Osborne, and carried by members present, the Minutes were approved as presented.

CORRESPONDENCE - none

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Thomas Morris, and carried by members present, the consent agenda was approved as modified.

PERSONNEL

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Sherburne-Earlville Board of Education, that the following resignations be accepted:

Teaching

Staff: Jennifer Martinez as Special Education Teacher, eff. 8/31/10

BE IT RESOLVED, upon recommendation of the Superintendent, that the following conditional appointments be made:

Teaching Staff:	Name: Christie Tedesco Date of Commencement of Date of Expiration of Proba Certification Status:	f Probationary Service:	Special Education 9/1/10 8/31/13 Initial
		te of Commencement of Probationary Service: te of Expiration of Probationary Service: rtification Status: me: Shannon Gracey Tenure Area: te of Commencement of Probationary Service: te of Expiration of Probationary Service:	
SUMMER SCHOOL:	Rita Longman as Teacher		
LINKS:	Deb Bittenbender Frank Busce Peter Cameron John Douchinsky Jennifer Ford Toni Halliday Stacey Jusianiec Kristie Lane	John Brown John Butzgy Darrell Collins Heather Dunshee Anne Geary Gayle Hellert Dale Kenyon Melanie May	Ken Buehner Jennifer Cameron Teresa Currie Jolene Emhof Danielle Goedel Heidi Johnson Melissa Krivit Ellen Murray

David Potter

Sandra Rounds

Lynda Stoddard

Jennifer Westervelt

Gene Thomas

Keith Reed

Candice Poyer

Ginger Rinaldo

Kathleen Todd

Tara Williams

Bridget Shaw Marie Hall

Support Sandra Whitehead as After School Plus Assistant, 10-11 Staff: Jean Ponton as After School Plus Assistant, 10-11 Miriam Kmetz as After School Plus Assistant, 10-11 Judith Rogers as After School Plus Assistant, 10-11 Amy Abbott as Substitute After School Plus Assistant, 10-11 Jason Pierce as Substitute After School Plus Assistant, 10-11

Michelle Parker

Bridgette Purdy

Stacey Snogles

Jonathan Vaughn

Grant Woodward

Mary Jo Rose

Liz Swistak

BOARD OF EDUCATION

BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Education of the Sherburne-Earlville Central School District funds the UPK Program with local tax money with the possibility of receiving funding from the State. During the next year the Board will discuss future funding of the program.

PUBLIC QUESTION AND ANSWER PERIOD - none

DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS

There is nothing new to report on the Building Project.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Susan Osborne, and carried by members present, the Board moved into Executive Session at 7:45 p.m. to discuss Personnel issues. On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Thomas Morris, and carried by members present, the Board reconvened into regular session at 9:00 p.m.

Doug Shattuck adjourned the meeting at 9:30 p.m.

Georgena Muhlfeld, District Clerk

EXECUTIVE SESSION BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING – August 2, 2010

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Doug Shattuck, Thomas Morris, Patrick Dunshee Daniel Piliero, Susan Osborne (entered 6:45 p.m.)

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Stephen Harris, John Brown

PRESENT BY INVITATION: Gayle Hellert, Todd Griffin, Tara Williams

The session came to order at 6:31 p.m. in the Elementary Library Classroom.

Tara Williams presented the CSE Annual Report.

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Daniel Piliero, and carried by members present, the following resolution was adopted:

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Sherburne-Earlville Board of Education, to accept the CSE Annual Report for 2009-2010.

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Thomas Morris, and carried by members present, the Board reconvened into Regular Session at 6:46 p.m.

Georgena M. Muhlfeld, District Clerk

EXECUTIVE SESSION BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING – August 2, 2010

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Doug Shattuck, Thomas Morris, Patrick Dunshee Daniel Piliero, Susan Osborne (entered 6:45 p.m.)

BOARD MEMBERS ABSENT: Stephen Harris, John Brown

PRESENT BY INVITATION: Gayle Hellert, Todd Griffin, Frederick Wright

The session came to order at 7:45 p.m. in the Elementary Library Classroom.

Three particular personnel issues were discussed.

Frederick Wright left the meeting at 8:30 p.m.

Gayle Hellert and Todd Griffin left the meeting at 9:00 p.m.

On motion made by Patrick Dunshee, seconded by Susan Osborne, and carried by members present, the Board reconvened into Regular Session at 9:30 p.m.

Georgena M. Muhlfeld, District Clerk